Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-27-2014, 03:11 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
I am new to DSLRs and I love Pentax Forums !!

Hi Guys,

Thanks to all of you awesome people, newbies like me are guided at every single point in the journey of discovering the art of photography..I never knew I loved taking photos until my wife was expecting and to capture all the memories in "High Quality", I decided to buy a DSLR. Initially, I wanted to buy a Canon 650D thinking it has all those sexy features like sexy shutter noise and flexible LCD.

But, being an engineer by profession, I had to research and analyse my options within the budget of around $600. And I checked many websites for DSLRs in that price range and saw Pentax K-30 and K-5 in around that range. I was astonished to see that Pentax K-5 and K-30 were weather sealed like Top end Canons and Nikons and were available for around $500 to $750.

I further researched and found out some youtube videos comparing K-5 photos with Canon 7D snd 5D mark III and was surprised in the details K-5 produced compared to them. Not knowing anything on importance of good glass in front of the body, I thought K-5 is the way to go....for my budget.

So, I bought K-5 with 18-55 WR kit lens for $750 on ebay from Hong Kong in Sept'13. The camera arrived in 5 days and since then I have been shooting with it. The kit lens is great for amateurs but I felt it was not sharp enough. I found Pentax Forums review in my search for a quality but budget lens. Since then, thanks to this website, I'm buying Lenses from Primes to multipurpose zooms.

I am willing to now contribute to the site by posting my own experiments with these lenses on K-5 but found out that I need to first introduce myself before I post my 2 cents for the lenses.

Thank you for this wonderful site guys...Looking forward to actively participate in this site...Cheers !!

01-27-2014, 11:48 AM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter