Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2014, 01:57 AM   #1

Greetings to the Pentax Forums Community

I'm a long time Pentax user starting with the venerable Spotmatic. It never seemed necessary to have more than the 50mm SMC Takamur 50mm 1.4 lens. Only when I was watching a lioness near a waterhole in Africa did I discover the need for more reach. Then I wandered to the Nikon and Canon worlds. Most recently I've had extensive experience with the fabulous GXR with it's 50mm Macro module and the fabulous GR. In fact, these are perfect companions for concerts, being absolutely silent.

I am in awe of the Pentax cameras coming to market, the K3 and the 645D especially.

I hope to participate and learn more of how you are using these marvelous cameras!

Thanks for having me!

Asher

---------- Post added 02-07-14 at 12:59 AM ----------

So what brought me here?

Well I have a website devoted to the image, more than particular cameras and now there's much interest in the K-3 camera and also the Pentax 645D original camera, a marvelous instrument. Now we've really gotten interested in the potential for Pentax rising to the top again in providing the 50MP sony CMOS sensor in a reasonably priced package. While we know that Phase One and Hasselblad's versions will be $38,000 to $40,000, Pentax 645D II must be less expensive by far. My guess is that it would be several thousand more than the original 645D. That would mean a price of about $9,000-12,000.

Now the Hasselblad and Phase One names carry a great brand recognition and sense of security for Professional Photographers. But given the expected more reasonable Pentax prices, I'd wager pros might be persuaded by the fact that they can get a spare body as backup and still have $12,000 in the bank!