Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2014, 10:02 AM   #1

Back in Black (with a K-3)

Hey everyone!

For a little more than a week now, I am a real part of the Pentax famlily again.

I learned my way around a camera with my old man's Spotmatic while I was still a child. He bought that thing during a business trip in the late 1960's and it was already a rather old piece of hardware when I started playing with it at about 8 or 9 years of age.

Although I loved that camera (and still do so today), over time it became quite an exotic tool. The flash we once had died of old age long ago and I had no chance of finding a replacement. I wanted something less exotic, a camera where it would be easier to find parts and accessories. At the time, a Canon EOS5 looked really good to me. I bought it in 1998 (IIRC), shortly before the EOS3 was launched. I had a lot of fun with it, but it didn't live to long because someone (I never found out who) probably played with the camera and broke the mode dial. During the time I had this camera, didn't buy much glass. From time to time I could borrow the EOS 300D from a friend. That was ok, but the results just never thrilled me.

I've always wanted a new DSLR and so last month, when I had the money I needed, I got myself a K-3. Because of the years I spent with that Spotmatic, I always had a soft spot for Pentax, but that did not make up my mind for me. Indeed, it only let me look a little closer at what Pentax had to offer. Because I didn't have a big collection of glass to consider, it wasn't too important to me what brand name would be on my new camera.