Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-10-2014, 06:20 PM   #1

Hey Hey from PA

Hi everyone my name is Tyler and I am brand new to the Pentax world and relatively new to DSLR photography. About 5 mins ago I bought a K-50 and some small accessories. I'm very excited to get the camera in my hands and start learning. I've found a local camera shop to order prints through, the guy there seems pretty awesome, so I am excited to take some classes there and use them for the million questions I will have along the way.

I am always into forum boards to help answer questions with my hobbies as well. I use to be active on several car forums, am still active on a golf forum, and would occasionally be on some gun forums as well...but anyway, if anyone has suggestions on forum links, websites, books, and/or videos for me to check out as a beginner it would be much appreciated.

I'll be sticking with the 18-55 kit lens for now and using GIMP for all of my post processing. If anyone has any suggestions for other free or cheap software that will work in place of or along side GIMP, please let me know.

Sorry for the longwinded intro

Thanks!
Tyler

02-10-2014, 06:39 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Welcome to the Pentax forums Tyler! Boy you are new, getting the K50 just 5 minutes ago and already posting!
It's been quite a few years since I was new, so I may not be the best at knowing how to get started now a days, but there are many forum categories on this board right here to help with just about all areas of photography and post processing. If you happen to get afflicted with LBA (Lens buying addiction) the lens review sections here as well as Welcome to Bojidar Dimitrov's Pentax K-Mount Page for all things Pentax related are good places to start. Welcome aboard.

Steve
02-10-2014, 06:49 PM   #3

Original Poster