Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-24-2014, 02:36 AM   #1

Good day from the low lands - NL

Hi,

My name is Francois and for now I am active jobwise in the Netherlands. I have been reading a lot of articles here and I decided to join in with the fun every now and then with some posts. I have been shooting Pentax since about 2005 or 2006...can't remember so well anymore (Pentax istDS).
In 2008 I managed to get hold of a fancy trio called the DA 21, DA 40 and DA 70. I also have the Zenitar 16 mm, the Pentax 16-45, an old 50mm F1.7 Pentax manual lens a well as a Metz 50 flash.
In 2010 I got myself the Pentax K-r which I think was the lowpoint of my acquisitions. Shitty camera to say the least (personal experience and evaluation - i.e. subjective).
It was so bad that I actually considered strongly to leave Pentax and join another brand. I decided to keep the camera and lenses and sidestep a bit by buying a Sony Nex 5n to compliment the Pentax where it had failures (focusing in tungsten for instance).

What did I not like about the K-r:
1. Unreliable focusing. Not only was it total crap in tungsten (front focusing) it was also unreliable in daylight. With my DA 40 I could lock focus on the subject at F2.8 and take 3 consecutive photos with the same exposure settings. The focus point was changing between them ....

2. Movie mode was included I guess to keep people quiet about requesting such a mode. It sucks donkey ballz compared to the Sony mirror less (unfair comparison for sure...but still). I think many if not all compact cameras had much better video capabilities. But I hear you say - its not for video but photos. Indeed. They could just have spared us the addition.

3. The viewfinder was of course smaller than my DS. I knew it beforehand, but still it was a point I did not like the more I used it.