Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-13-2014, 02:20 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
just a quick hello to all

Hi all my name is Tom,
I live in Ayrshire, Scotland, ( Rabbi Burns country )
I'm partially disabled i.e. heart lazy and a bad heart but I manage to get about. I repair laptops / computers.
I like landscape photography, and portrait, and sports, wildlife, anything relay

I have joined the forums to find out a bit more about Pentax cameras i.e. the K3.watched a lot of reviews on this camera
First I must state that I'm a beginner but a fast learner, the camera I have at present is a Fuji bridge cam the HS50, ( yea don't laugh)
I have had this for the past year, and used it as a learning tool.

I have watched hundreds of videos on YouTube about shutter speeds, aperture, manual mode ISO. I have learnt a lot, and still am learning.
I relay like the K3, but have been held back from purchasing because of lack of confidence on my part, ( I don't know to much about lenses but trying to learn i.e. A MOUNTS E, MOUNTS OR WHATEVER )
I think about the learning curve to be familiar with the settings and know them all is a challenge for me but hey you got to know your tools

we all got to learn, and I find the best way is to get out and keep taking photos,
so I hope I can learn something here.
Thank you for reading
Tom G

I'm a 30yr old trapped in a 63yr old body

03-13-2014, 02:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Hey Tom! first of all, welcome.

The K3 is a great camera, so are the K30, K50, K500, K5.... pretty much all of them For sure it will be a nice upgrade to your bridge. What's nice with DSLR is the many different mode you get, how much control you have over the pictures you take. You're new, stick to the green mode, learn how the camera chooses the settings and then move on to other modes if you wish. The K3 is full pack of features but it is also very easy to use and to learn (all pentaxes are).