Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2014, 05:38 PM   #1

New K-50, new to Pentax

I'm new to Pentax DSLRs, with lots of experience with Canon & Nikon DSLRs as well as M43 cameras. I just received my K-50 two lens kit from B&H today (with a 50 1.8 on the way) and spent about a half hour shooting at dusk with the 18-55. Simple stuff, just getting used to the layout and controls. It has a very nice feel in the hands, and my middle-age eyes love the viewfinder and layout.

One of the draws was using older Pentax lenses with the camera's IBIS (along with weather sealing). I'm looking for a good inexpensive macro lens (yep, spring is bursting out in the southern Appalachians I call home, and the wildflowers are just starting to bud). Manual focus older lenses are more than welcome -- that's part of the attraction to me. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

04-04-2014, 05:41 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome aboard! This A-series lens is an affordable way to get a 1:1 macro lens:
SMC Pentax-A 50mm F2.8 Macro Reviews - A Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

04-04-2014, 07:41 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Welcome!

Hello MountainMutt, welcome to the Forum!
Adam's given you a fine choice, there aren't too many good true macros for under $200 used. And new? $500 and up. Way up.
As you probably know, most macro lenses are either 1:1 or 1:2 mag ratio. Generally, the under $200's are 1:2, half life-sized.
For now, I'm overlooking extension tubes and mag diopters, just native lenses.