Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-26-2014, 09:11 AM   #1

How do you do?

Hi there from Wisconsin! I am brand new to Pentax. I just bought a refurbished K-3 from KEH. It won't be arriving until next week sometime. I am thrilled to be able to have bought this great camera, and now to be a part of this Pentax community!

I bought the body only, so I am actively looking for a starter lens or two.

I should mention that I am a Sony (a65) convert. I just loved that camera, but instead of going with the a77, I jumped at the chance to get a refurbished unit from KEH at a fantastic price, woohoo!

I look forward to interacting with this community, and will start today, as I am in need of a starter lens under $200.

Thanks,
Matt

04-26-2014, 01:01 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Hey Matt!

Welcome to the forum (More like a guild of Pentaxians ) or a Covenant if you prefer

Share your experience with your K-3. Read the forum and good to see more and more people converting

Cheers!
04-26-2014, 01:13 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum Matt! Looking forward to seeing your images.
04-26-2014, 01:42 PM   #4
Moderator PEG Judges

Photos: Gallery
Welcome, a lens for the K3 eh, hang on to something solid... your about to be bombarded with lots of great suggestions as to how you should spend your money.

04-26-2014, 03:12 PM   #5

If you don't mind manual focus, I love my M50 1.7. What do you need? Tele, wide, macro, all in one?
04-26-2014, 03:21 PM   #6
hcc
Pentaxian

Welcome to the Forum.

In need for a first lens, it will all depend upon what you need:
- AF or MF?
- Prime or zoom?
- All-rounder?

For many of us (incl. myseld) an all-rounder lens is often the first lens because of the versatility: DA18-135mm, DA18-250mm (in my case).

For your budget, the original kit lens (18-55mm) may be one good start. Alternately a MF prime lens from the Marketplace or Keh.com may be an excellent value.