Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-08-2014, 03:12 PM   #1

Hello! New to forum + Pentax!

Hey there!

I'd consider myself a serious amateur and I'm about to make my first Pentax purchase. I've been looking into the k-x, k-500, and k-50 and have decided that k-50 is probably the best for me since I've some experience with other DSLR Canon, Olympus, and Nikon cameras. Also, I learned coding and graphic design in middle school and high school and it developed into an additional hobby, which I'm now picking back up after graduating college.

I'm pretty hopeful and excited about joining this forum!

06-08-2014, 03:32 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hello and welcome to PF .
06-08-2014, 03:34 PM   #3
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum, there's plenty to see and do here.
06-08-2014, 04:06 PM   #4
pqx

Welcome, i'm sure many here can help you with your purchase.

06-08-2014, 04:13 PM   #5
Des
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Welcome to the forum and welcome to Pentaxworld.

The K-50 is an excellent choice.

The hard decision is not about the camera body but about what lens(es) to get, especially if you decide to skip the kit lenses. Plenty of opinions about that topic around here!
06-08-2014, 04:22 PM   #6

Original Poster
Thanks everyone! Yup, I'm gonna try to go for the kit lens but I'm looking to invest in an additional macro lens as well.
06-08-2014, 06:57 PM   #7
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Hi mimi (?)
tell everyone your budget (approx. ) and what subjects you anticipate shooting and they will probably give you some useful advice as to which lens and body would be best for your needs.

Welcome aboard!

06-08-2014, 07:43 PM   #8

Original Poster