Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-27-2014, 02:47 PM   #1

Introducing Myself

My real name is Marc. I am an amateur photographer hobbyist. I just bought a mint Pentax 100d DSLR with lens, and external Pentax flash from Ebay having read so many glowing reviews about it as far as results right out of the box. I used to own a Pentax Super Program, SF-10, and SF-1 but then sold them to get a Canon, Nikon, and ultimately a Minolta SLR which I still own.

I had several Sony DSLR's but they started to annoy me as far as they could never handle reds and greens well unless I adjusted settings, and by the time I made the adjustments, the moment for the shot disappears. The lesson I learned is that one could talk all day about megapixels, and shutter speeds, and internal processor speed but the key is the ability to process, and interpret what the eye sees. Usually, they do not talk about this in the literature.

I am very happy with the K100d but I just recently noticed some dirt, and a hair fragment in the viewfinder, I always like my viewfinders to be clean so I am not distracted. I tried blowing out the dust with compressed air, which seemed to work, as I did not notice anything further. The next day, I noticed some other specks, and then that hair again. I was going to leave it alone but knowing that it was there, started to annoy me again. So, what did I do? Removed the focusing screen, and blew that out with air. Reinserted, and now all the dust is gone but that scratch or hair like mark is still there at the lower bottom above the info display. No dust or hair marks appear on any images. I know, you will all tell me that I am crazy, and should just leave the focus screen alone. I guess, too much pride in my equipment. I even started to think about buying a new focus screen. I need to keep telling myself, this is not a perfect worldlol.

Anyway, you have my confession. Redeem me(lol)!. Thanks.