Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-21-2014, 01:53 AM   #1

Hello & Long exposure K-3 noise profiling

Hi people,
I'm new to this forum, let me introduce myself and wish all you very clear and astonishing shots with your Pentaxs!

The reason to enter the forum is that I am thinking in purchasing a new camera (I got MANY years ago one K110) because the K110 is tooooo noisy for doing nocturne pictures. I am an amateur astronomer, and have been doing astrophotography for long years. My K110 can not go longer than 60 or 90 seconds without showing the terrible thermal noise that plague its CCD sensor. Recently I took a shot where I could even see the top left CCD frame glowing in red (mainly) because of the small heat generated by the output electronics placed in that area of the sensor!

My question is: some user/owner of a new K-3 could make a set of shots with the optics of the camera closed with a cup ('DARKS') exposing in the range of 180-300 seconds long?
F number and optocs are irrelevant. ISO is important in the test trial. Can a K-3 shot beyond ISO1600 and longer than 30 seconds? A set of trials with ISO 800, 1600 and 3200 would be great. Ambient temperature in the range of 15-30ºC would also be OK.

The K-3 will not be mainly used for taking pictures through the telescope, but for nocturnal and light painting landscapes, on tripod and nights with temperatures spanning -8 to 35ºC degrees.

I attach one picture with my K110 showing the high noise that this camera presents, otherwise a VERY good camera (perfect for the price I paid) for regular use, full of performances only found in superior brands or models.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K110D  Photo 
07-21-2014, 01:46 PM   #2
Master of the obvious
Loyal Site Supporter

Hi and welcome!