Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-22-2014, 02:58 PM   #1

A Pentax and DSLR newbie

Hello,

I'm new to Pentax and the world of DSLR generally. I had a Canon Point and Shoot which served me very well until the battery just stopped charging. So I graduated to a mirror-less - Panasonic G5 which I quite like. I started taking some course because I'm interested in going (semi) pro and thought it might be useful to get a good DSLR. I'm a contrarian my nature so I automatically won't get a Nikon and Canon. I narrowed down my options to Olympus, Sony and Pentax. So far, the Olympus k5 seems to be the best best for my pocket and my (for now) modest ambitions.

07-22-2014, 03:10 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by kanfranben Quote
Hello,

So far, the Olympus k5 seems to be the best best for my pocket and my (for now) modest ambitions.
Welcome to the Pentax forums. Does Olympus make a K5 as well?

You might like this thread...

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/6-pentax-dslr-discussion/109990-we-really-rare.html
07-22-2014, 03:14 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by SpecialK Quote
Welcome to the Pentax forums. Does Olympus make a K5 as well?

You might like this thread...

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/6-pentax-dslr-discussion/109990-we-really-rare.html
Oops typo - Pentax K5. Excitement at finding this forum :-)
07-22-2014, 03:57 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I don't think it is a great idea to go against Canon or Nikon just for the sake of being different. You should assume that a camera system with interchangeable lenses will cost a lot more than your initial body and lens; and once you are in a system, it is very hard to change, without losing a lot of your investment.