Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-22-2014, 07:53 PM   #1

I'm new to 35mm photography

I currently own a Pentax k1000, super program, and program plus I know nothing about 35mm film but I have this infatuation with it already I have bought a lot of film but only a handful come out decent (5 out of 24 per roll) I would like advice on settings, etc. etc. I'm not trying to be a professional but at least know the basic any help is welcome please message me here, or email me at ***not a good idea to leave your email address in an open forum*** so email address removed to protect you from spammers

Last edited by photolady95; 07-22-2014 at 08:21 PM. Reason: removed email address
07-22-2014, 08:18 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You don't say what photography expeience you have. When I started out with film It was recommended to keep a journal recording the shot and settings. Then when the film got processed I could see what worked in different situations and what didn't. To try to give you settings would be nye on to impossible since settings change with lighting, subject, what look you are trying to achieve , film etc.
That said the K-1000 is a simple camera to learn on as long as you have the needle in the open area in the center you should have a reasonably well exposed shot . That is if your meter is correct. then you only need to get focus. Remember to set the ASA/ISO for the film speed you are using . There are some really good books out there that can help with lighting ,,composition understanding how iso, shutter speed, and aperture work together.
Welcome to PF
07-22-2014, 08:33 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums