Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-01-2014, 12:21 PM   #1

New to Pentax from South Africa

Hi
I am not new to photography, but new to Pentax. Disillusioned with the Canon 7D I have decided to make the switch to Pentax with the K3 arriving next week. Should that go well then we could see a second body. In the mean time I'll operate a my trusty Canon 40D body and the K3. But in the mean time I have the following queries:
1) I would like to hear from fellow South Africans shooting Pentax and apart from Fotofirst where is the best place to get Pentax gear?
2) I also have to decide on a flash and would like to proceed to do more studio work. Is there anyone doing studio work and what flash (or flash gear) would they recommend/are using and why? My photography has been very much on the news side (Allied Picture Press) so this will be a new steep learning curve for a self taught person.
Many Thanks
Joe

08-01-2014, 12:42 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Hi and welcome!

I can't help you with your questions - shopping photo gear is not what usually brings me to SA

The easiest way to locate other South Africans here is probably to check out the South African Pentax owner group.

And I'm sure you'll get plenty of flash advice over here: Flashes, Lighting, and Studio - PentaxForums.com

Enjoy!
08-01-2014, 01:08 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome aboard!

Seems to me the wireless flash option is the way to go, not that I have direct experience with that.
I use LED panels for close work, it's softer than the flash.
08-01-2014, 01:17 PM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks very much

08-01-2014, 02:07 PM   #5
Moderator PEG Judges

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum, there are quite a few other South African members here, who might be able to help you with your sourcing issues.
08-01-2014, 02:48 PM   #6
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery