Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-15-2014, 11:11 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Hey guys! Great to be here!

Hi all!
I am a college student in the southern US. I bought a used K-x on ebay before a study abroad trip to the UK and Europe. Since that time, I have learned a lot about photography (and wanting to kick myself for not shooting RAW sooner). I have taken about 8k pics with my K-x, but am looking to upgrade to a k-5 for the weather sealing, reduced ISO noise, and higher dynamic range from the k-x. The weather sealing would be nice because I like shooting storms, but normally have to stay inside or under awnings to keep the camera dry.

My favorite things to shoot currently are landscapes and night shots.

Here are a few from my trip to London. Keep in mind I had only had a DSLR for about a month at this point, was still shooting JPEG only, and did not have a tripod, so I was having to improvise with with coins and my lens cap on top of tables or trash cans.

These were all shot at 100 ISO with the in-camera HDR turned on standard mode with a primary shutter time of 2.5 seconds.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
08-16-2014, 02:33 AM - 1 Like   #2

Welcome to the forums.
I've only just joined myself but had been browsing them for quite a while and there's a wealth of information to be found. And it does seem a pleasant and helpful community.

You just gotta love night shots, especially in a city like London. Yours are way better than mine, before I had a tripod, but maybe I just didn't have enough coins to make them right...
08-16-2014, 03:49 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter

Welcome aboard! I would say your improvisations turned out rather good