Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-18-2014, 04:48 PM   #1

Eager to learn and take great shots

Hi All,
I'm a novice to photography. I recently bought a Pentax K-50 with the 18-55mm kit lens and a second 50-200mm lens. I've been watching a lot of videos as well as taking a lot of pics to learn. I've looked at some of the weekly contest submissions and am really impressed. Hoping to capture some great pics soon.

Thanks,
Ashok

08-18-2014, 05:03 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to photography, to Pentax, and to Pentax Forums! Your kit is pretty much the same as what I started out with 7 years ago; I think you'll love it. The learning process is so much fun (and never-ending).
08-18-2014, 05:20 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by nna_misc Quote
Hi All,
I'm a novice to photography. I recently bought a Pentax K-50 with the 18-55mm kit lens and a second 50-200mm lens. I've been watching a lot of videos as well as taking a lot of pics to learn. I've looked at some of the weekly contest submissions and am really impressed. Hoping to capture some great pics soon.

Thanks,
Ashok
Welcome,

I would advise you to buy a fast and cheap 50mm manual prime or the Helios 58mm (also cheap) as soon as possible.
That's when the fun begins. The kit lenses were always albatrosses around my neck. Last week I managed to sell the 18-55 off for 20 quid, and I was immensely pleased with the transaction.

Don't be afraid of experimenting (and failing from time to time).
08-18-2014, 06:18 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Welcome!

Here is my 2 cents. There are some topics that are a must and a bit of advice.