Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-10-2008, 03:19 PM   #1

Greetings, greetings!

You know, the usual long time lurker, new poster!

Thanks to everyone on here from whom I've learned so much (albeit passively through lurking) over the past year! This is such a friendly and hospitable forum, definitely showing the spirit of the Pentax ethos.

I'm a relative newb to photography....got hooked Christmas of 2006 when, upon being driven by unabashed geekishness, I put the new P&S into manual mode. One thing led to another, and well....ended up with an shiny new-old M 50/1.7 from eBay. Actually got a K100D to put it on a month later.

Then it started. Then came the Infection.

A year out and the K100D got sold for an 'upgrade' to an *istD. Yeah, it's slower than the K100D--and I didn't think that was possible --but with my not so great eyesight, you'll have to pry the istD with its pentaprism viewfinder out of my cold, dead hands. No more pentamirror peep-holes for me! The lens corral has grown to include an MC Cosmicar 28/2.8, a DA 16-45/4, and a Vivitar 85-205/3.8 my dad used back in his hobbyist photog days (Nikon mount, but works just fine!). The most recent additions to the family are the FA50/1.4 and FA77/1.8.

After much reading, researching, pixel-peeping, and sou-searching, I decided upon a being a primes-boy, as I pursue this hobby as a means of personal self-expression and desire to be learn to practice the discipline the way primes force you. Hence, I'm looking to part with the 16-45 and 50/1.4 to raise funds for an FA43!

Looking forward to learning even more from everyone. Having gotten a good grasp on the technical aspect of photography, I want to now learn and grow in using the photography as method and expression of art.

Looking forward to being in community with y'all!

05-10-2008, 07:31 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Welcome

Greetings to you TysonG: