Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-02-2014, 07:42 PM   #1

Greetings from Sunny Los Angeles!

Hi, everyone!

My name is Derzy, but you can call me Derzy ;). I am a first-time photography student and the proud owner (as of about 3 hours ago) of a beautiful Japanese-made Pentax K1000! I purchased this baby on eBay for my black and white photography class at College of the Canyons because it turned out that my never-used Nikon N55 isn't manual enough, ugh. My intention was to use my father's Pentax MX (he still has the original receipts and boxes! We...might be entry-level hoarders.) but it got lost in our big move and I needed something ASAP. (Fret not, friends, for the MX is still with us...we just don't know where right now.) This forum was extremely, immensely helpful in helping me find the K1000 that I actually wanted to buy, so thank you all for your contributions to the serial number list!

Despite having been around -- and owning -- cameras since I was old enough to walk, I had never enrolled in a photography course until now. It's not entirely for lack of trying: in my high school, Photography 1 was always the first class to fill up so, if your name wasn't pulled for the first round of sign-ups, you could kiss your darkroom dreams goodbye for that year. High school was also the time that digital cameras became widely available and affordable, so I sort of put the idea of film photography classes on the back burner and never picked it up again.