Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-12-2014, 07:26 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Hello herd, K-50 freshly open.

I'm a graphic designer from the south coast of England. I was brought up with cameras around and started off on an OM2n from olympus, I shoot whatever interests me but what's grabbed me the most recently is photography in the hours of darkness. It's all pretty new to me, so any constructive help is alway appreciated.. And if you're in the area and fancy going out just give me a shout! Here's my piccies from my previous camera, an Olympus E510.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/munkymitz/

Anyways, here I am, the K-50 my new tool.. and my first hard earned DSLR. I'm keen to hear anyone's opinions, including tips or drawbacks for the K-50, and also better shooting practises.

I'm really impressed with the astrotracking ability when coupled with the GPS, which I only read about post purchasing.. you can imagine my happiness. Does anyone use this, if so please so some comparisons, I've seen some on the web, but it's always nice to see them first hand.

Thanks ;] and have a happy weekend.

09-12-2014, 07:49 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome aboard.
Search for threads about astrophotography - you'll be amazed and astounded at what you'll find here.

The K50's a great camera, you're going to get plenty of use. Which lens set did you get?
09-12-2014, 08:01 AM   #3

Welcome to Pentaxforums.

Those are some very nice shots. Which just proves, once again, how it is not the camera that's responsible for good photos. And that I have to go out hunting again soon... too bad the weather has been rather horrid recently. Anyways, have fun exploring your new lightcatcher!
09-12-2014, 08:13 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by TER-OR Quote
Welcome aboard.
Search for threads about astrophotography - you'll be amazed and astounded at what you'll find here.