Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-14-2014, 08:23 AM   #1

Newbie Entertaining Pentax

Hello. I am fairly new to the serious photography world. I have always had a passion for pictures. I am an artist at heart and am really drawn to the emotion and stories that a photo can tell. I've been taking a lot of pictures lately and I am beginning to recognize and appreciate my eye for it. I am now at the point that I want to seriously pursue it and possibly take it on as a profession. I am starting at the basics. I have a standard SLR camera and a bunch of point and shoots. I am looking to invest in my first DSLR camera and I am interested in finding the best bang for my dollar. I am interested primarily in portrait photography. I love people, find them fascinating. Everywhere I look, I am always hearing how I need to go with a Canon. However, I am very much drawn to Pentax. From what I have seen, the quality is on par (and sometimes even better). So I joined this forum to hear from all of you. I am interested in your opinions and feelings about the camera wars and how Pentax seems to be overlooked.

I have a few questions for anyone who might be kind enough to answer. One of them being: Do you find it hard to find Pentax compatible products? (Outside of buying Pentax brand everything). Secondly, your opinions on MP. A lot of the cameras don't boast the big megapixels that Nikon and some Canon do. I read somewhere that a pixel in a Pentax is actually larger than in other brands. I don't know if that is something i should believe or buy into. Can anyone offer any knowledge regarding that. I always thought a pixel is a pixel and a MP is a MP. It's all universal. And finally, any feedback on Pentax customer service. I would like to know your experience dealing with customer service.