Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-25-2014, 06:37 PM   #1

Hi from Ukrainian in Arizona

Hi there! I am a rookie, just bought my very first dslr camera Pentax K50. Everyone I know says Im crazy and should have gone with the big two, Nikon or Canon. But Pentax just felt better in my hands. I just got it in the mail today with 18-55 and 50-200 mm lenses. I am overwhelmed! 300 page manual? What did I get myself into? I primarily need it to take good quality photos of my toddler and baby. Photoshoots are so expensive that I figured I might as well invest in my own camera. Anyways, I just played with it for a little bit while the kids napped and I have more questions than answers. First and foremost. Is there a way to set it so I don't have to use the viewfinder? Can I see what I am taking a picture of on the lcd screen? I am wearing glasses and so the viewfinder is a pain, I have to put contacts in. Well, like I said, I have a TON more questions. But if somebody could answer just this one, I would greatly appreciate it!

09-25-2014, 07:04 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi and Welcome to the Forum,

You want liveview which is enabled with the LV button on the back. The problem is that the camera is somewhat large and holding it out in front of you to aim it via the rear screen can be a chore. Live view is very handy when up on a tripod. Plus, there can be a lag with real time on the rear screen, especially in dark conditions. The sensor needs to collect light before it can be displayed.
PS - The manual is just an explanation of the controls and you really need to know what your are looking for to begin with. There is another book - an e-book that that helps with the how and why. You can download it and read it on your pc...

Last edited by interested_observer; 09-25-2014 at 07:10 PM.
09-25-2014, 07:09 PM   #3
Pentaxian