Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-26-2014, 08:23 PM   #1

Hello from Houston

I've been using the site for about six months and decided to register. I retired from the army recently and was a Public Affairs officer for a long time. I use to take photos but generally I had some photographers that worked for me that took them for me. I haven't used a SLR in 20+ years and wanted to get started again. I bought a Pentax KR off ebay. MY first SLR camera was a Pentax but never learned to use it that well. I would like to find it now so I can see if the lens I use to have is a good one. I've gone while buying lens off of ebay. I was impressed with the 18-55MM AL lens that came with my camera. I have a Pentax 28-70MM that has given me some good results. Just bought a Asahi Pentax SMC Takumar 1:1.8 55mm, Sears Auto 200mm f/3.5 Telephoto, and a Ricoh Camera Lens Japan 50mm 1:2 on ebay and can't wait for them to get here so I can start experimenting.

09-27-2014, 11:39 AM   #2
Master of the obvious
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome! Looks like you have started a nice lens collection Be careful with that Ricoh lens, though. Some of them have the infamous "Ricoh pin" that will get the lens stuck on your camera.

In short, do your research before trying to mount that lens.
09-27-2014, 12:10 PM   #3
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
Welcome aboard, enjoy your photography now, as you've got the time at last to do it.
09-27-2014, 02:58 PM   #4

Original Poster