Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-28-2014, 02:34 PM   #1

Aloha from Seattle & question

Hi all,
Great to see this resource here. Looking forward to learning from you all.
Would love some guidance in selecting the first lens (or two) for my new K3.
I'm a newbie, but excited to take my photography to the next level (from point and shoot)
Looking for lenses under $300, and plan to take mostly landscape and family portrait pics (of my family, not professionally of course). Wanting something that offers high performance in low light, and a rather wide angle. Thanks much!

10-28-2014, 03:04 PM   #2
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum, have a look at the lens review section here, it may well help you decide.
10-28-2014, 03:08 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Bonjour from France and welcome to PF, TrailRunner ... Hope to see some images soon! Salut, J

Two prime lens suggestions: the DA 35:2.4 and the DA 50:1.8 ... the so-called "Plastic Fantastics" !!! Great bang for the buck, hands down.
10-28-2014, 04:01 PM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks for the words of welcome :-)
I've read some of the reviews on the plastic fantastics. Those look like a great starting point. May I inquire, what are the circumstances that would lead to choosing one over the other for a shot?
Thanks again :-)

10-28-2014, 04:21 PM   #5

Hello there and welcome to the forums. With the K-3 you picked a very nice piece of gear to step up from point and shoot.

Did you get a kit lens with it? Depending on its range you could try around with the different focal lengths to get a feel for what kind of prime would best suit your needs.