Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-25-2014, 02:33 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Warm - or should I say cold - hello from Toronto

I believe I should start by saying that I am not a proud Pentax user... yet, and that's why I'm here...
Photography for me started late in life - almost 40 - and not too long ago - two and a half years ago, or 6000 images, take your pick.
It started with the necessary learning of the basics, to be able to operate, and take control of the camera, which surprisingly didn't take all that long. The Nikon D3100 was sold (with under 2000 actuations) a few months after starting the next step in the learning curve; light. For this, I picked up a used D90, because it had more features and gave me the ability to access the parameters in a much easier way. Started pointing the lens at "real" subjects, playing with light - direction, quality, natural and artificial, etc. - posing and all that comes with photographing people. After shooting a friend's very small wedding, I realized that I could use a bit higher ISO "usable" images (everything over 800 had to be pp'd into b&w). Enters the D7000 after 2500 shutter actuations on the D90. Big disappointment, not sure if the ergonomics or just got tired of following the herd (have always done exactly the opposite), or the not big improvement in usable higher ISO images, but the fact is that I started looking for a replacement almost immediately.
This was not the first time I have heard of Pentax - my father owned one back in the film days - but was the first time I considered it.
This was the beginning of 2014.