Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-01-2015, 04:03 PM - 1 Like   #1

Hello from the Central Coast of California!

Hello Pentaxians!

I pre-apologize for spelling errors, I don't have internet at home so I am writing this via mobile. ;-)

Short story:
I just got a K-50 and I am really excited!!

Long story:
I took a film photography & development class 15 years ago, absolutely loved it, but it was just too expensive and I did not even own a camera (had borrowed a family member's for the class) so I was unable to pursue photography.

Add 15 years, year 2015, it is still expensive, but I was tired of waiting "for the right time", so here I am. I took the plunge with a brand new Pentax K-50 kit from Costco (included 2 lenses: 18-55 and 50-200, both DA L WR, plus extras).

I consider myself an absolute noob, but I am an avid researcher and I now consume anything I can get my hands on regarding photography, equipment, and technique. I have also signed up for a digital photography class to begin mid-January from my local community college.

I am excited and a bit overwhelmed. So much to learn! So many toys to buy! But I have been anxiously yearning for a DSLR since my first photography class in year 2000, it just took me this long to figure out the financial side of things (let's hope I can afford groceries and rent! Haha).

Beyond photography, I am an avid swing dancer (West Coast Swing addict!), and artist (acrylic is my usual medium). I enjoy horseback riding, hiking, camping, live music, and learning to play guitar. :-)

I am thankful to have randomly come across this site, it fully influenced my decision to go Pentax. ;-D

01-01-2015, 04:19 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome Aboard! Congratulations on your new K-50! Happy New Year!
01-01-2015, 04:54 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter

Welcome to PF! Looking forward to seeing some images!
01-01-2015, 06:19 PM   #4

Original Poster