Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
01-10-2015, 11:17 PM - 1 Like   #1

Stepping out of the shadow : Tale of a Canadian (ex)lurker

Hi!

I'm an enthusiast photographer who had been lurking from time to time on these forums after I bought my first DSLR in 2009 (a K20D). Back then, I never really bothered to register and participate, feeling I had nothing really interesting to contribute as a complete beginner. After a really great start with this new hobby, my monopod failed and I dropped the K20D, Pentax 18-250mm, and 540FGZ, one sad afternoon about six month after I bought the whole thing. The camera was bricked, the lens was still working but not as well as I remembered with the K20D, and the flash was undamaged (at least!). I replaced the camera with the then recently released K-7, and decided against repairing the lens (the quote from Pentax was 350$) since it was still producing images as good as before the fall.

In the following years, my interest for photography slowly eroded as I never really fell in love with the K-7 as I did with the K20D. Don't get me wrong : I was getting some great pictures with the K-7, and on paper, it was the better camera, but I ended up with very soft images much more often than with the K20D, and apparently not just because of the 18-250mm : it also happened with my other lens, an FA 50mm f1.4. I rapidly identified the problem to a very inconsistent autofocus, but since I was mostly using the 18-250mm, I attributed it to the lens and didn't really investigate further until recently. Got the camera tested at an authorized repair shop and they said all was fine. The good side of this is that if forced me to learn to focus manually, which I did for the last couple of years till very recently. The bad is that I never fell I was getting the most from my camera : I wanted to love it, but I couldn't.