Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-20-2015, 10:47 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Greetings from the Pacific Northwet

New guy here!

I got my first SLR camera just about 50 years ago when I learned about through-the-lens cameras from a GI while on a troopship headed to Vietnam. That was 1966! The GI had a brand spanking new Asahi Pentax Spotmatic! I was so impressed.

When I came home I resolved to get one of those incredible cameras for myself, when I decided to do amateur photography. And so I did, after saving up all my coins to buy one, I've owned #2317179 for 45 years, I figure. In time I earned to process B & W film and print my own pictures in a makeshift darkroom I made in the basement.

Over the years the camera gear went up on a shelf and was forgotten about. A couple of years ago I started playing around with DSLRs and, quite frankly, the learning curve has been very steep and for this old buzzard. Worse yet, I'm too prideful to "set it and forget it" with a camera costing in excess of 700 bucks. So, yes, they (DSLRs) do everything but fry an egg, Yes, the permutations and combinations of various elements in making a picture seem endless. Right now I'm shooting a Canon t3i....BUT....

Somehow I saw the difference in picture quality of film vs digital and was really surprised at the better product film renders when used by a good shooter. So that kind of got me re-interested in shooting film again. So, I dusted off the old Pentax Spotmatic and am waiting to get some Velvia to try my luck out. The camera seems as good as it was the day I put it away. A good article on film vs. digital here