Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-28-2008, 06:21 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Heya from the UK

I had wrote this out originally but it either didn't post or vanished :/

Well, I'm a newbie to cameras although been around them all my life. Currently own a Canon A540 and Panasonic Lumix FZ20, but want something a little more professional, maybe something that will push me to learn to use it, instead of having an "auto" mode that just holds my hand from start to end.

I was looking at the K100d Super, as Argos have it for 249 with a kit lens, in theory it's perfect for me, something 'cheap' (cheap?! My FZ20 was 120 from ebay!), that I could buy some older lenses for, maybe hopefully my Centon 'Auto Zoom' 70-210mm pentax mount will fit it! (It has the bayonet fitting with multiple contact points, one of which sticks out if you set the ring to (A)p mode)

Anyway, Hopefully I can learn some things, as I'm a little confused on the terms (Like what is a Prime), and on what to look for in regards to 'legacy' lenses (or glass I think the common term is now?)

The other thing is, for 289, I can get a Sony A200, or for 299, a refurb K70s. I know the K100d Super is actually better than most of the DSLRs in it's bracket, but does it beat both of those two too? I've done searches but nothing comes up, only D40 vs K100d Super (which the K100d wins).

05-28-2008, 10:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hey Sov!

What I had that pushed me into learning exposure, etc, was my dad's K1000, since it was completely manual!

The K100D Super ought to be a great fit!
05-30-2008, 10:07 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Welcome to Pentax digital!

I don't know anything about those other cameras as I've shot Pentax for all my SLRs, but I can help you with some of the terms.

Prime lens - A fixed focal length lens, a lens with NO ZOOM.