Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2015, 04:16 PM - 3 Likes   #1
Forum Member

New 645z Owner And New To The Forum

So I've had a just a few days with the 645z that I bought 'used' (actually new) from B&H. I'm new to MF, new to this forum and mostly new to Pentax. I originally had ordered a used Hasselblad H3D-39 with one lens for $9k. After placing that order and before it got to me I did a little reading on the 645z. Uh oh, Hasselblad... big mistake for me. There's no way I would withstand the expensive repairs I hear about with Hasselblad and I then heard the H3Ds are some of the worst. So I opted to refuse delivery of the H3D shipment. Second big mistake by refusing the package instead of shipping it back myself. B&H told me refusing a package would only cause an additional 3-5 day delay, compared to me actually paying to ship it back. I thought, "that's no big deal, I can spare 3-5 days." Well, 3-5 days became 3 weeks and then I realized I better start making some important phone calls. I first talked to the postmaster in my town and he is telling me, not to worry, the package has $100 insurance added to the standard $50 provided by the PO. You're kidding?!? I tell him the package should be insured for $9k. He then says oh,... well some companies self insure all their shipments, so that's could be the case. Ah, but why add $100 B&H? Ohhh goush, this situation's turning into some bad shyte. He makes a copy of my shipping receipt showing my refusal of the package and tells me it has left that office, but he would get on the phone next business day with the Brooklyn PO. So the next business day, I called the PO main customer service to get the ball rolling and got a case# for the matter. Thankfully, the package arrived at B&H in the next two days and I was told they ARE self insured on their shipments. Well ok, that's good to know. Biggest lesson leaned here is that I will never refuse a package again.