Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
03-03-2015, 03:06 AM   #1

New and confused Pentax user - K10D mirror up?

Hey everyone

I have a Pentax K10D and am desperately trying to work out all it's functions, the one I'm particularly looking for at the moment is any form of mirror lock-up function - any ideas?

I'm a fairly new photographer, love night sky and scenery shots, but struggling to get sharp images with manual focus - hoping the mirror lockup might help

Thanks!

Amy

03-03-2015, 03:18 AM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The 2s self-timer serves as a mirror lock up, as far as I recall. I think the dedicated option was added to later high-end bodies.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
03-03-2015, 03:18 AM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Have you engaged Shake Reduction? Are you using manual lenses - if so you will have to select the correct focal length for shake reduction to work properly. This selection is made on starting up the camera whilst the lens is attached. (edit - if you are using a tripod then it would be a good idea to turn shake reduction OFF)

Also, beware of the possibility of back/ front focusing. Phase detection may give misleading focus confirmation.

Perhaps a better third party focus screen may help too. If you already have one installed beware of the positioning of the focus screen - it might be out.

Are you using RAW and PPing? JPEG conversions in camera might be doing your images harm.