Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2015, 11:00 AM   #1

Hello from Southern California

Hi. I am new to dslr photography and image processing. I got a K-3 in late January with a Pentax SMCP-DA 50mm f/1.8 lens and a used Pentax 55-300MM F/4-5.8. I have been wanting to get into dslr photography for several years but it was put off by one reason or another (life) and partly because I couldn't decide which brand or camera to go with- so many options, so many opinions. I enjoy my point and shoot cameras, which have all been Canon. They took good pictures and I had pretty good luck with in terms of durability. So it was a little leap of faith for me to switch brands. I went with the K-3 because it has a great list of features for the price. I like taking pictures outdoors, so it being weather/dust resistant is great. The Flu card is pretty cool and I really really like that you don't have to install another app and keep it up to date. No big complaints so far but I am a little annoyed with the fact that the camera firmware information is not up-to-date across all sites:

Downloads & Literature - RICOH Imaging
versus
Latest K-3 Firmware Update : Software Downloads | RICOH IMAGING

My camera was shipped with the latest firmware but I was curious to the update process and what changes/ fixes were made between the different versions.

I've been learning from lurking/searching on various forums and purchased Yvon Bourque's K-3 ebook. I've processed my first RAW image today using the Ricoh Digital Camera Utility 5 that was included with the camera. I have Picasa installed but it wasn't displaying the RAW files. I used it to crop the jpg. I have a copy Adobe LR 5 that shipped with a printer but haven't installed it yet.
There's my DSLR life story so far. Usually it's hard to get two words out of me....

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 
03-07-2015, 02:19 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery