Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-14-2015, 01:33 AM   #1

Amateur looking for answers

Hi all,
I've been using my Pentaxes since film days but time alone didn't teach me much. There are months when my lenses are capped and the camera bag stowed under the bed, and then there are odd days when I shoot hundreds of pictures. I'm an amateur.
That said, every now and then, when I check my screen I get bothered by why the pic looks bad and start questioning. This is where I hope to find the answers.

Some of my best pictures are at
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wiekszy/

03-14-2015, 08:07 AM - 1 Like   #2

QuoteOriginally posted by chriswill Quote
Hi all,
I've been using my Pentaxes since film days but time alone didn't teach me much. There are months when my lenses are capped and the camera bag stowed under the bed, and then there are odd days when I shoot hundreds of pictures. I'm an amateur.
That said, every now and then, when I check my screen I get bothered by why the pic looks bad and start questioning. This is where I hope to find the answers.

Some of my best pictures are at
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wiekszy/
I just took a quick look and what I saw was several low light pictures taken with probably the kit lens. The camera has to rack up the iso to compensate for the aperture in low light situations and as a result adds all the noise you see in a jpeg. I would recommend to try switching over to shooting in raw and getting Adobe Light room through the creative cloud for 10 a month. After that go on youtube and find learn light rooom but anthony morgantie and after maybe a couple hours of practice and his videos youre going to be much happier with the pictures you produce.
It also looks to me like either your main subjects frequently are not in focus 100% or just are not sharp. Im sure better people will come along with more advice.
03-14-2015, 12:49 PM   #3

Original Poster