Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2015, 04:46 AM   #1

Hello From Basingstoke!

Hello everyone

I'm Pixelbug, from Basingstoke, England. Feel free to call me Pixel or Bug if you like

I'm a total newbie to photography. I have a Fujifilm FinePix 4530 that I take snapshots with but I'd really like to learn how to take photos properly and to learn to work with raw.

I've decided that I'd like to get a DSLR and have been mostly set on a Nikon D5300. However I'm severely dyspraxic and therefore very very clumsy and a few people have recommended that I look at Pentax as they're more rugged and can take a bit more abuse than the Nikon. I also heard I can get lenses cheaper by getting an adapter and using film lenses?

I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for a Pentax camera to look at?

Thank you

04-10-2015, 06:22 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The Pentax KS-2 appears to be a good entry level camera and it is Weather Proof.
04-10-2015, 06:25 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thank you
04-10-2015, 07:32 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum pixel! If you don't 'need' a new DSLR there are good used values in the K-30, K-50, K-5 and K-5 II bodies. Yes you can use any old Pentax lenses. Only the older M42 screw mount lenses need an adapter. Otherwise the lenses have the K mount like the new ones. Looking forward to seeing some of your images.

04-10-2015, 07:55 AM   #5
Forum Member

Welcome, aboard.
04-10-2015, 10:13 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by pixelbug Quote
Hello everyone

I'm Pixelbug, from Basingstoke, England. Feel free to call me Pixel or Bug if you like

I'm a total newbie to photography. I have a Fujifilm FinePix 4530 that I take snapshots with but I'd really like to learn how to take photos properly and to learn to work with raw.