Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-07-2015, 05:25 AM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

New learner

I am new to Pentax and I have a Pentax XG-1. I started or tried a Canon Rebel T4i, but I ended up giving it to my daughter who has much experience with Canon. I found it to be confusing and overwhelming to me. My daughter suggested to get a camera that is easier to learn with. I looked a several on the home shop channels, and showed them to her. She thought the Pentax would be a good teacher. I have bought it, but it did not come with much accessories. I was wondering if anyone knows of a free download for processing photos. My daughter has helped me get GIMP, but I find this difficult. Is there some where that I can learn in steps? I would also like to say "Hello to all".

05-07-2015, 05:48 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome aboard!
Does the XG-1 come with a software suite? You can also get some tools with Picassa, which only requires a Google account, IIRC. They probably have some online tutorials for that as well.

Another one I like for freeware is paint.net I don't recall whether it has RAW support (for .dng or .pef files) but it might. RAW is the digital equivalent of a negative, the full-sized sensor image. JPG processing in-camera is pretty good, and for most of your work it's likely to be just fine. The paint.net will allow you to do some basic editing like adjusting exposure, contrast, color adjustment etc.
05-07-2015, 06:08 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Try Faststone. It is free, and when you use it you get just the picture on the screen. Then you can get different menus by mousing to the edges, which is nice and non-confusing. And you can change different aspects of your picture separately from the others, using sliders, and see what is happening as you work.

I use it almost all the time, and very rarely need to use anything else.