Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-13-2015, 04:22 PM   #1

Hello from Ohio

Hello everyone, I am just beginning to embark on the journey of photography with the new K-S2 and the kit 18-50mm and 50-200mm lenses. I am interested in shooting landscapes, portraits, wildlife near my house, and my wife and her figure skating students at the ice arena. It's been challenging determining the right settings for shooting on the ice, and I think I definitely need a faster lens to get the look I am going for, but here are a few of the shots I have managed to make look decent. Please let me know about any helpful advice you may have as I find my way to pro-quality photos.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-S2  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-S2  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-S2  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-S2  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-S2  Photo 
05-13-2015, 05:34 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Forums Nice set of photo's to introduce yourself with
05-14-2015, 03:07 PM   #3
Moderator PEG Judges

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum, I do hope the lassie in the last image is supposed to be sitting there on the ice... perhaps at the beginning or end of a routine.
05-15-2015, 04:02 AM   #4
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by pic-nic Quote
It's been challenging determining the right settings for shooting on the ice, and I think I definitely need a faster lens to get the look I am going for
Welcome to the forum. I see you joined the Dayton, OH group. Feel free to PM me with any questions you have.

With the high ISO capability the newer cameras, you don't always need a "faster" lens. Your EXIF data shows that you are using ISO 640. Don't be afraid to increase the ISO (1600 or more) so you can shoot at a faster shutter speed (1/500 second or faster) to eliminate motion blur. Then it's just a matter of removing some of the ISO noise in post processing.

Tim