Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-30-2015, 04:59 PM   #1

New (future) Pentax K-S2 User - lens advice

Greetings,

I just packaged and shipped my entire micro 4/3 system to one of the major online retailers in order to receive credit towards a new Pentax K-S2. Quite a traumatic moment :-) however based on a few reviews and a brief hands-on experience with the K-S2 I believe I am making the right decision. I am by no means a pro, I would consider myself an advanced beginner that wants to explore the world of photography a bit more seriously in addition to simple travel photography. I would appreciate any advice regarding the choice of lens for this camera - not sure if I should get the kit lenses (18 - 50 & 50 - 200), the 18 - 135, or just the body and scrounge around for some non-Pentax lenses. Nice problem to have! Glad to have discovered this Forum and thanks in advance for any help!

05-30-2015, 05:26 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome!

Personally I would pass on the kit lenses, unless the budget requires you to go that way. They are not bad, but there is better glass available.

The 18-135 is a very good travel lens and paired with a DA 55-300 you have a nice 18 to 300 kit in two lenses.

If you want to step up a bit look at the DA* glass. This would be the DA*16-50 and the DA*60-250. So 16 to 250 in two lenses.

You should also consider whether you want to shoot with zooms or primes. You will find quickly on this forum that many (most?) are big advocates for Pentax primes especially the Limited series. Limiteds come in two flavors DA and FA, with the older FA series having aperture rings and being full frame capable. The DA versions are smaller have quick shift and are (mostly) APS-C only.

You should also look at the lens review database here: Pentax Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database
05-30-2015, 05:28 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian