Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
07-07-2015, 08:18 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Greetings from Oregon

Hello everyone,

My name is Far, from Wilsonville, Oregon. I'm fairly new to photography although I had my first SLR long time ago but I was never serious about it. My first SLR was Asahi Pentax MX 35mm. I then got Canon T2i and although it was more than enough for me, I went ahead and bought the K-3II. I had the camera for a week I really like the built and the grip feel of it. However, I've been checking the Pentax macro lenses since I find myself more into that type of photography, and I'm wondering if wondering if I took the right decision buying a Pentax. Are there enough Pentax macro lenses and how do they compare to other lenses. I find the focus system on Canon more accurate but that also could be the lens I'm using on the Pentax. Do you think that I should go with another brand or do you think that Pentax offerings are good enough for macro? What Pentax macro lenses do you recommend.

Thank you for your help.

The attached photos obviously were taken using a non-macro 50mm lens.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3 II  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3 II  Photo 
07-07-2015, 09:13 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi neighbor! Welcome to the forum!

Quick answer to your question is there are almost too many Pentax macro lenses. From 35mm to 200mm. I personally have 35mm, 2 different 50mm, and 2 different 100mm ones. All are excellent and have wonderful sharpness.

Go here to look at the lens database: Pentax Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

Remember on Pentax, any lens made for k-mount or m42 mount still works. Many of the manual lenses made years ago are great and even better for macro than modern autofocus ones because they have better focusing rings with longer throws. For example the Pentax-A 50mm f/2.8 is an amazing short macro lens.