Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-09-2015, 04:18 AM   #1

Bokeh

Hi all, I am new to the Pentax digital scene, yet way back when I was a tot my camera case consisted of 3 Pentax KM 2's......those were the fun days when I used to go and shoot then rush back to my darkroom to develop the negatives and see what I had captured.
However I find myself in a bit of an argument with some other photographers and perhaps you could shed some light on this subject.
Bokeh in my opinion, is not strictly speaking a photographic style but more a lens effect popularised in 1997 in Photo Techniques magazine, when Mike Johnston published an article on using bokeh as a means to draw the observers attention to a subject. Computer graphics developers cottoned onto the idea to use the effect as a wallpaper so that desktop images are more visible. When used in the IT industry it it is very much a style, yet it appears that the international Photographic community does not accept Bokeh as a photographic style and as yet and it seems that it is regarded only as an aesthetic quality within a photograph. I would like to know if anyone can clarify this for me please.

07-09-2015, 04:43 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Lots of styles are based on lens effects, Marreus.

What about long exposure blurred seascapes or lifestyle shots utilizing flare from backlighting?
07-09-2015, 05:08 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hey, welcome!