Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-17-2015, 09:09 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Former Canon AE-1 User, Current K3 User

Back in high school (2005 or so) I was gifted a Canon AE-1. I loved shooting with that camera, and it ignited a passion for photography. Aside from consulting books, I was entirely self-taught until I took a photography course during my first semester of college. The professor for that course was amazing, and allowed me to stray from the curriculum. I used a Holga 120 and my Grandfather's Kowa 6, mixed my own chemistry, and was able to print on fiber paper instead of the typical resin coated. Towards the end of that semester I started working for a Sears Portrait studio. Overall it was not a good experience. Due to the burn out from working there, a lack of funds, and no access to a dark room, I fell out of photography.

Eight or so years later, my financial situation improved, and I decided that I needed a hobby. I work from home and sitting in front of my computer all day was starting to get old. While setting up a home workshop, I decided that I would like a camera to take photos/videos of my future projects. After agonizing on what type/brand of camera to get, I purchased a K-3. The K-3 is the best digital camera I have ever used, though comparing it to the Canon Digital Rebel, Olympus E-1, and various point and shoots is not fair. While it is not as magical as time I spent in the darkroom, the digital development process is fun. Overall I am pretty happy with the camera, and look forward to mastering it.

Thank you for trudging through my introduction, and I look forward to contributing to this forum.

08-17-2015, 09:33 AM   #2
Veteran Member