Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-08-2015, 09:34 PM   #1

The Quintessence of Doghood: Short Photo Essay

Hey everyone, I am new to this forum and I was wondering if you could give me some critique and tips. My name is Jordan and I am out of Portland, OR. I love photography and I am pursuing photojournalism, landscape, and travel photography. I'm currently studying Photojournalism, and Professional photography at the New York Institute of Photography (NYIP). I Currently shoot with Pentax K-x, but am upgrading in a few weeks to Pentax K-3. I did my first Photo Essay the other day, just practicing. Anyways, here is a pretty short photo essay I did the other day and I love it! All comments welcome. Just kind of practicing with aperture and capturing those moments. What do you like? What do you dislike? How do these pictures make you feel?Thanks everyone.

Here is a direct link to it: http://madebyastarbreather.tumblr.com/post/128616098680/the-quintessence-of-...-a-photo-essay

Hope to see all the amazing things you are all doing!

Last edited by Jwbelvi; 09-08-2015 at 09:57 PM.
09-09-2015, 06:36 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Coming from the point of view of a former TV photojournalist (11 years; Peoria, Louisville, Denver), the thing which I immediately noticed was that these are all tight shots. I was taught at the beginning of my career to always have a variety of wide, medium and tight. Granted, I am talking television, and so you may be being taught something different. The wide shot was to establish the environment you are in. The medium was to establish relationships between different participants in your story. And the tight shot was to establish emotional intimacy with the main subject, not just the face but also with hands (or paws), etc.