Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2015, 07:34 PM   #1

New to photography

Hi, I am new to photography and would like to buy either a good used DSLR or something new. I'm currently thinking of buying Pentax K-3 and wanted to know an opinion about it. I really appreciate your help!!

Could you also redirect me to good sites where I can look for good deals (apart from this forum)?

Thanks!!

09-13-2015, 07:51 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter

A K3 would be one heck of a good first camera. There will be LOTS of room for you to grow into that one for sure.

Pro-tip would be to spend your money on lenses. Get the good stuff. When you figure out what you like (zooms, primes, manual, AF, etc) then buy more

I would look in the lens database at reviews and take the approach about lenses rather than a camera body. After you get to a certain level of proficiency you can (and will) upgrade the camera body eventually, but good lenses last forever.

---------- Post added 09-13-15 at 09:58 PM ----------

And a follow up to that will be to make use of the marketplace. There are some really good deals on used but very excellent lenses. You can save a ton of money by experimenting on used lenses first.

I don't want to say 'forget the camera' but rather most of your priority should be put on lenses rather than camera bodies. Stuff like 'this many frames a second' or 'that many megapixels' can be alluring, but lenses are more important than all of that.
09-13-2015, 10:35 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Hi there and welcome,

A few suggestions from my own experience starting photography, in no particular order. Might (or not) work for you, depending on your style.

- until you get the camera, use your time to read theoretical stuff about photography: exposure (aperture, shutter speed, ISO), how to measure exposure, how to focus etc. Don't over complicate but try to get the basics right;
- read the manual for your camera;