Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-28-2015, 04:54 AM   #1

Pentax loyal fan already

Meow! from Philippines Well, I actually got my Pixie (q7) for almost a year ago. I was disappointed when I learned I can't do portrait/ fashion-thingy photog with its kit lens (02). Yea., still such a newbie here and I thought I could've just bought a real dslr + 50mm/1.8. But, I already became a fan of q7 and pentax in general.
Right now, I just want to make it work with my q7 with the advent of adapted lenses. I'm finding it hard to search on how to do fashion photography with it. So far, the option I see possible to do it is through an incredibly sharp vintage lens which I saw on a review. It's a SMC takumar 85mm/1.8 on a q7.
I'm about to buy it but I want to seek further advice here, if someone has tried it. Or are there any other options (still pentax) for portrait? Maybe I should've posted it somewhere else, but any input here will be greatly appreciated.

09-28-2015, 06:20 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The crop factor in the Q7 is 4.7x, which makes an 85mm the eqivalent to using a 400mm on a Full Frame or a 270mm on an APSC DSLR like the K50. That would require a really long working distance.

What about the current 02 zoom fails to work for you? Have you considered the 8.5mm prime lens?
09-28-2015, 07:07 AM   #3

Original Poster
I've considered getting that 01 but the sample photos and reviews tell it requires very close-up to get that good background blur- SMC Pentax-Q 01 Standard Prime 8.5mm F1.9 Reviews - Q-Mount Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database.
This review made me consider the 85mm- Pentax Adapter Q for K-Mount Lenses Review & Rating | PCMag.com. I just was not sure about the quality of it because the subjects were statues, and if the blur was just right.