Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-22-2015, 04:11 AM - 1 Like   #1

Hi all - New Pentax user here

Hi Everyone,

Glad to meet you all and hoping to learn a lot from these forums. I am new to DSLR photography and to Pentax. Moved from a Canon SX-150 Point and shoot to a Pentax K-50. Was a great point and shoot with a dedicated Manual mode, which I exploited to a large extent for around 4 years, but which also left a lot to be desired. So moved to a DSLR. Why Pentax? Not sure really, but was sort of a spit second decision. Because at the price range, nobody offered a weather sealed camera. Also the camera was highly rated from the reviews that I read. And also in part because I wanted to stand out from the crowd of Canon and Nikon users.

I want to focus mostly on Landscape photography. Because I just love scenery. Everytime I come across some scenic view, the first thought that run across my mind is to capture it on camera. I think that is reason enough to be interested in Landscape photography. But capturing the perfect scene is of course not enough. I want to also make it look as good as is possible. I guess that involves studying composition, tools like filters and the witchcraft that is post processing. I know some very basic post processing but I want to master it to the extent that it becomes intuitive and second nature-like.

I am also interested in HDR photography. I have dabbled in it during my point-and-shoot years. HDR just make the scene look unreal. And I like that. It is like extracting jewels out of nature. I guess I can do a lot more in this field with an SLR. I would also like to get my hands wet in other areas like portraits.

Well, hope I haven't been boring you with this lengthy intro. Have a nice day.

---------- Post added 10-22-15 at 04:13 AM ----------

Oh yeah, my name's Mayuresh by the way. And am from Toronto, Canada.

10-22-2015, 04:19 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter