Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-18-2015, 05:03 AM   #1

Hi all, from Australia.

Hello everyone, I will start by saying I am a complete beginner at photography. I have been happy enough with point and shoot cameras and whatever comes installed on my phone up until now. But decided to jump in and to purchase a dslr. After a week of reading reviews and watching youtube, I know own a k-50. It ticked all the right boxes for me and Durability is always at the top of the list when I buy any type of gear and weather-proofing alone gave the k-50 the edge. I bought it with the kit lens (18-55mm) and am planning on adding a longer telephoto lens and maybe a 50mm prime when funds allow. Being in North Queensland I have a great amount of wildlife available to model for me, and most of my photography will be wildlife / landscapes. I have 2 pre-teen daughters whom I will also need to take more photo's of, so I can look back upon them fondly and remember their smiling faces after they turn into vicious monsters (that's around 14 for girls isn't it?) I also realized that I needed to update my photo editing software from the windows media I have always used, So I have subscribed to Lightroom. I am glad I found this great forum (the gear reviews alone are a massive help to a beginner) and I hope to someday soon be able to hang my pictures on the wall proudly. Thanks Michael...

11-18-2015, 06:00 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi Michael, and welcome to Pentax Forums. You have quite a number of fellow Australians on here, as you may already know, even some from FNQ. You seem to have made a good start with your K-50, and when you're ready to move on to other lenses, have a look at the lens samples posted here, in order to help you make your decisions. Enjoy your time here.
Rob
11-18-2015, 06:12 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums