Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-24-2015, 07:54 AM   #1

Hello from Holland

Hi,

I would like to introduce myself by focusing on my first steps into photography. I'm a Mechanical Engineer, 34 years of age, married and 2 sons.

In 2007 I purchased my first camera, a tiny Sony point-and-shoot. Eventually I found myself customizing settings in order to obtain better images. I mostly used center focus in order to obtain some control over the composition and lighting. I was happily experimenting with DOF using the macro function. During a hike I noticed a friend repeatedly copying my shots using a system camera. I didn't think much of it, until reviewing our shots back home. I noticed that her pictures looked much better than mine. In August 2012 my eldest son was born. Because of my job, I largely saw him in the evenings and during the subsequent winter I was unable to acquire even mediocre photos without using flash. This prompted me to do some research.