Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2015, 06:46 AM   #1

Hello, new K-50 owner here

Hello,

I'm 24 and I just bought myself the Pentax K-50 with a 18-135mm lens. I've never used a DSLR before, I took some pictures with a small compact 18mpix (Coolpix I think), and my Android phone, but I have no further experience with photography.

When looking for a "good" camera to buy, I narrowed it down to the Pentax K50, the Canon 100D and the Nikon 5300D. Nikon being too expansive for me, I ruled that out. Then, there was an Amazon "flash sell" on the K50 with the 18-135 which allowed me to buy that kit for the price of the K50 raw body. So I gave up to the marketing pressure and ordered the Pentax And I regret nothing!

Right now, I've used the DSLR for 2 days and I took many photos (90% of which were total garbage), and I'm getting used to it little by little. I like the feeling of the K-50 in my hand. It's kind of a "natural" feel. I really like it so far.

So, how do I work so far?
- I use the eyepiece (visor?), well, the not-screen thingy.
- I take many full automatic pictures and try to enhance the look of them by going manual and trying to "tweak" the iso/f/exposure when taking a 2nd photography, to understand what does what.
- I mostly use Autofocus because atm I have not managed to have a perfectly clear (non-blur) picture of a living subject manually

So far, I've encountered two major issues :
- impossibility to go higher than 3200 ISO (6400 is just terrible, so much grain). Am I doing something wrong?
- I can't take clear pictures with somewhat long exposure (0.1', 0.4', 1') handheld. I'd like to know if it's my hands "shaking" too much, or maybe the initial "click" that makes the body slightly move in my hands, or if in general it's simply not possible to take good shots with long exposure and handheld.