Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-12-2016, 04:08 PM   #1
Forum Member

New here and asking some questions!

Hello Pentaxians!

Iím completely new to photography and this forum!

I am a recent graduate from an environmental science program and my main interests are shooting macro flowers, landscapes, field sites, and wildlife. I also plan to shoot portraits, astrophotography and maybe tilt-shift miniatures in the future.

I donít own a camera yet, but my limited budget and feature geekiness sets me in the direction of the Pentax K-S2. I specifically require weather sealing for my environment work and an articulated screen for macro shots of flowers and grasses.

I have some old gear for both Pentax and Canon that I have questions about. I will write up another thread asking about compatibility soon!

I look forward experimenting and sharing my shots in the near future!

All the best,

02-12-2016, 04:31 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome!

You will be pleased to know that any old Pentax lenses you have can easily be made to work on the KS-2 you have in mind, and also on any other Pentax DSLR body (although naturally you don't get the advantage of weather sealing with older lenses). And there is an excellent weather-sealed 100mm macro lens that should suit your field requirements down to the ground.

To get you started and possibly answer some of your questions on using that older stuff:

https://m.youtube.com/?reload=2&rdm=1vq2014u2#/watch?v=gUE0aQBy2D4

The 100mm WR macro:

SMC Pentax-D FA 100mm F2.8 Macro WR Reviews - D FA Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database
02-12-2016, 05:31 PM - 1 Like   #3
PJ1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery