Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-11-2007, 12:33 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi from Australia..and help!

G'day from Australia. I'm trying to build a reputation for myself as a photo journalist/travel writer, and have had a reasonable degree of success so far since undertaking my first assignment in Vietnam and Cambodia 12 months ago. Because I'm mainly a writer (used to be a journalist and foreign correspondent) I have been using a Panasonic FZ5 because it was "easy" - and have had a number of photos and stories published. But the prestige glossy magazines want better quality than the 5mp Panasonic (although its Leica lens is great), so I have taken a big step forward, and purchased - after lots of research - a Pentax K10D. So far I have been modestly happy with it, although the pics seem to come out a little on the dark side, the AWB sometimes seems a bit off when I use the camera indoors, and finally, the pics don't appear as sharp as they were with the Panasonic - although at the moment I am only shooting highest quality jpgs and not RAW. I would be grateful if anyone could tell me if there are any 'secrets' to tweaking the K10D. This time in 8 weeks I will be in a remote part of Assam, India, on another writing/photo assignment, so I have to put myself through a crash course in getting to know the K10D. I only have 2 lenses so far - Pentax 18-55mm DA and the Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG Macro (needed the length for wildlife and I will also be on a riverboat on the Brahmaputra river, which can be up to 25km wide - although hopefully we will generally be relatively close to shore most of the time). I have a basic photo site at Photographer and Journalist in Adelaide Australia . I would welcome any advice from K10D owners. I got the camera because it is robust and weather-proofed (better for the monsoon season in India), has the dust prevention and camera stablization as opposed to lens stabiliz