Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-30-2016, 01:57 PM   #1

New to forum interested in landscapes

Hello, I am also new to Pentax and wondering what lenses are recommended for Landscape and architecture photography

03-30-2016, 02:08 PM   #2
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by HonestZabe Quote
what lenses are recommended for Landscape and architecture photography
Welcome to the forum, usually on the wider end of the lens scale and rectilinear if you can get them too.
03-30-2016, 02:10 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Landscape can be anything really, from the 15mm Limited to the DA*60-250. I probably shoot as many landscapes with the 60-250 as anything. Depends on what look you are after.

For architecture I guess you need to say indoor or outdoor? For indoor you want as wide as possible, Pentax 12-24 or Sigma 10-20. Outdoor depends a lot on what you are shooting and how much room you have to back up. For homes maybe the 12-24 or the 16-85. For big buildings? Not sure, maybe the shift lens from Samyang.
03-30-2016, 02:37 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Hello, I am also new to Pentax and wondering what lenses are recommended for Landscape and architecture photography
welcome to the forums. with that, i'll offer a piece of friendly advice. narrow your topic down considerably.
such an open ended question may lead to a 500 reply thread but it will not help you in the least.

I would recommend you add:

Years of photo experience
Current camera body
Subject matter (waterfalls/mountain/seascape etc)
Price Range for lens
How many lenses you intend to purchase in next 6 months
How often you take pictures
Physical limitations
Hiking ability

Those are the first things that come to mind.