Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-07-2016, 09:43 AM   #1

Greeting from the yellow pollen dust area of the southern Appalachians

Hi all, just got a Pentax K-50, as I was tired of the poor pics of my point and click camera. I exited the camera world a decade or two ago, selling my K-1000 when print film died, and I was a bit above the amateur stage at that time. I seem to have forgotten most of what I knew at the time. I hear that happens past 60.

I am retired, a lover of all things dogs, especially small terriers, a hiker and acoustic musician. I want to do great pics of the outdoors, and of my wife and pup as we travel around the southern USA.

My efforts with the camera have been so far encouraging, with a couple of questions.

1. I took a pic of a civil war house under cloudy skies, with auto setting, and could not get anything except a picture that was very dark, as in past dusk dark. It was ripping hot outside, with a pup in the car, so I did not stay long enough to see what was wrong.

2. On the occasional dark situation, house with shades closed, [puppy sleeping on the bed] and using the auto function, I cannot get it to take a picture no matter what I do, it simply will not release the shutter. What gives?

3. Will this do a movie and specifically, give good enough sound for me to use to post my huge guitar talents on youtube? I tried a movie with sound at 5, then a second with sound at 3, and both had a large amount of hiss in the background--it seemed that the mic was searching for sound in a quiet room, or maybe it was picking up internal sounds of the camera itself.

Many thanks, I hope to spend many hours reading questions and answers on this forum,

05-07-2016, 01:30 PM   #2
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery